CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON COLLEGE

Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Board of Governors held on Monday 29 March 2021 at 6pm Conducted via Microsoft Teams

PRESENT

Mr Mark Taylor (Chair) Mr Mike Hastings (Vice Chair)

Mr Clarence Crosdale (Vice Chair) Mr Trevor Dutton

Ms Emma Bull Mrs Amanda Tomlinson

Mr John Bradford Mr Mal Cowgill

Ms Sally Slater (Staff)

IN ATTENDANCE

Mrs Elizabeth Ball - Clerk to the Board of Governors

30/21 APOLOGIES AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (ITEM 1)

Apologies were received from Nisha Rai and Yankho Songwe.

31/21 REPORT FROM THE SEARCH AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (ITEM 2)

The Chair reported that four members of the Search and Governance Committee, the Head of Governance and Sophie Carney (Peridot) met with five potential Governors on Friday 26 March 2021.

These individuals had been identified by Peridot. A sixth candidate had unfortunately withdrawn from the process due to increased work commitments.

As part of the interview process, the candidates were asked a series of questions and their responses scored on a scale of 1-5.

Total scores from each panel member were then combined, which resulted in a ranking for each candidate.

In addition to the scores however, members of the panel discussed the skills and experience of the candidates, the fit with the current membership of the Board and considered three other potential Governors who had met with two members of the Search and Governance Committee earlier in the year. Other applications that had been received were also noted.

The Chair has advised that today he recommended that the City Council nominate Hshaana Knight, Ioana Axinte and Sam Duru to replace Ian Fegan, Alison Shannon and Phil Leivers. A response is expected in the near future. Ian Fegan, Alison Shannon and Phil Leivers have submitted their letters of resignation.

Alison Shannon has however agreed to remain as an associate member of the Audit Committee and Ian Fegan will continue to work with the College in relation to PR and marketing.

The Search and Governance Committee have met in advance of this meeting and made recommendations to the Board of Governors.

It was resolved that:

- 1. Subject to receipt of the nomination from the City Council, Sam Duru, Ioana Axinte and Hshaana Knight be appointed as Governors
- 2. Amardeep Singh and Scott Thompson be appointed as Business Governors
- 3. Lindsey Flynn be appointed as a business governor having been nominated by the LEP
- 4. Ian Gardner be appointed as an independent Governor.
- 5. Alison Shannon be appointed as an associate member of the Audit Committee.
- 6. Ian Gardner be appointed as a member of the Campus Transformation Oversight Group

All appointments are for a period of four years from 1 April 2021 to 31 March 2025 and are subject to completion and receipt of a satisfactory DBS check and references.

It was also resolved that the membership of the Committees be updated as follows:

<u>Audit Committee</u> <u>Search and Governance Committee</u>

John Bradford (appointed as Chair)

Trevor Dutton

Mike Hastings

Amanda Tomlinson

Alison Shannon (Associate member)

Mark Taylor (Chair)

Clarence Crosdale

Mike Hastings

Emma Bull

Mal Cowgill

<u>Remuneration</u> <u>Campus Transformation Oversight</u>

<u>Goup</u>

Emma Bull (Chair) Mike Hastings (Chair)

Mark Taylor Trevor Dutton
Clarence Crosdale Sally Slater
Mike Hastings John Bradford
Vacancy lan Gardner

John Gough (Associate member)

Apprenticeship Task and Finish Group

Nisha Rai (Chair)

It was agreed that Governors to be asked to express an interest in joining the task group once the terms of reference have been drafted.

32/21 CONFIDENTIALITY (ITEM 5)

There were no items to be withheld from public access.

33/21 DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING (ITEM 6)

26 April 2021 at 5pm